A Lot To Be Thankful For

Thanksgiving is a uniquely American holiday filled with family, food, football and unfortunately this year the corporate folly of making workers come in the evening to help push up the financial bottom line as those people with no life look for a bargain at 9:00 p.m. May those workers have the best day possible.

No matter how people spend their Thanksgiving day it is important to remember that this holiday is not only about family celebration and personal relaxation but a time to find a few moments during the hustle and bustle to reflect on all the earthly benefits we enjoy in this the greatest country in the world. Perhaps during the day you might sit down away from the food and the flat screen and think about the words of Samuel Pugh, a man of deep spirituality and social conscience who wrote this Thanksgiving prayer. It’s on our refrigerator door and hopefully it will be on yours.

Oh God, when I have food, help me to remember the hungry;

When I have work, help me to remember the jobless;

When I have a warm home, help me to remember the homeless;

When I am without pain, help me to remember those who suffer;

And remembering, help me to destroy my complacency and bestir my compassion.

Make me concerned enough to help, by word and deed, those who cry out for what we take for granted.

Happy Thanksgiving to all

 

 

Leave a Reply

