Stealers Wheel

One of my favorite rock songs from the 70s was Stuck in the Middle With You by the Scottish group Stealers Wheel. Although the song is some 40 years old, it is right on in that it captures the political mess we are in in this country and the helplessness and frustration that all Americans feel. Here’s one key verse in the song:

” Tryin to make some sense of it all,

But I can see that it makes no sense at all

Is it cool to go sleep on the floor?

Cause I don’t think that I can take it anymore

Clowns to the left of me, Jokers to the right

Here I am stuck in the middle with you.”

That’s me and most of America – stuck in the middle of a senseless partisan dust-up with monumental consequences, and who can I look to for guidance out of this mess when there are clowns on the left of me and jokers on the right.  I can’t take it anymore.

 

Leave a Reply

